Cold Medicine

I’m cold.  My apartment is cold. Outside is cold.  My hands are cold and my nose is cold.  I’ve been so cold that I’ve developed the habit of  shrugging my shoulders up constantly as a protective gesture.  I don’t know if it really makes me any warmer, but it’s some sort of instinctual thing, and I do it when I’m not thinking.  I even do it when I sleep.

I know this because last week I woke up barely able to turn my  head or lift up my left shoulder.  Ridiculous.

So for the past week or so I’ve tried to stretch, massage, and apply heat in hopes that someday I might be normal again.

But really the best thing I can do is to not be cold.  And that’s why I just keep knitting on my big, blue blanket.  My big, blue, light blue, green, super-warm, blanket.

captured_by_snapseed_27_1

It’s the biggest thing I’ve ever knitted, and it’s warm and snuggly.  It covers my toes when I sit down to knit in the evenings, and it’s the only thing I want to work on.  I think I could hibernate underneath it.  I haven’t even finished knitting it, and I’ve been using it already (I just have to mind the needles sticking out at the top. Very cozy though).  I don’t know how big it will be when it’s finished, but I feel like it’s a project that I’ll miss when it’s done…like a simple, well-written book.  I’m feeling nostalgic already. sigh

Speaking of nostalgia, WordPress sent me an e-mail today reminding me that today’s my bloggiversary!  A whole year has gone by since I started this blog, and I can’t believe how quickly it went.  Makes me want to celebrate.  Maybe eat some cake or something…

Sadly, my children ate all of the chocolate, chocolate chip muffins I baked this week, so I guess I’ll have to settle for a wrinkled watermelon radish instead.

captured_by_snapseed_29_1

Happy Bloggiversary!  I’m really glad you’re all out there. :)

 

9 thoughts on “Cold Medicine

  1. Happy Blogiversary! Every time I read your blog I get to smile, nod along with your thoughts, and laugh at your wit and humor and that makes me sooo happy! Oh course, I also feel a bit sorry for myself because I don’t know how to knit, but that’s okay. 😉
    Keep blogging, friend!
    P.S. What is a watermelon radish?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thanks Jenny! You so are kind and lovely. :-)

      So watermelon radishes…I’d never heard of them or seen them before, so when I saw them at the store I snatched ’em up because we like to try new things. They can get as big as a beet. They’re crunchy and taste like a mix between the flavor of a radish (without the heat) and the sweetness of a turnip. I just ate them raw. They were tasty.

      Like

Leave a Reply

