Somewhere in the Middle

Is it just me or is January flying by?   It’s already the 27th, and I feel like the new year just started a week ago. So, even though January is already almost over, I wanted to share a few resolutions I made for this year.

I don’t usually do resolutions, mostly because I have a tendency to give up at any hint of failure, but also because my overarching life goal is usually something like:  be perfect at everything.  And since that goal is both stupid and unattainable, I thought I’d try something different.

1.Love and/or use most of what we own.  So far this year I have donated 7+ big black trash bags full of stuff I don’t use or need, a few boxes full, and some odds and ends.  I’ve also thrown some things away.  It’s very freeing.  The key here though is not perfection…it’s livability and simplicity.  Notice that I said “most of what we own” and not “everything we own.”  Don’t get so carried away with getting rid of things that you throw away something a family member might really love…like a husband’s beloved excess sock collection.  They’re his….leave them alone.

2.Eat healthy and happy.  This means that I incorporate a lot of good things into what I eat everyday, but I don’t deprive myself either.  My diet so far this year is something like 75% organic, home-cooked, lovely food, 11% Enstrom Butter Toffee, 8% Coffee with heavy cream, 3% beer, 2% chips, and 1% Nerd Ropes.  It’s my happy place.

3.Move my body more.  I’m usually all or nothing when it comes to exercising.  Lately I’ve been more on the “nothing” side.  When I do exercise, I usually get a little intense about it, so I’m not instituting a super shiny, fantastic fitness plan…I’m just moving more.  I dance to music,  I randomly jump around on the cool indoor pogo stick thing we have, I ride my kids’ scooters, I do some of those Pinterest daily exercise things (except I don’t commit to doing them daily), I take a walk if it’s nice out, etc…I move more.  It’s good.

4.If I have the supplies to make something I really want or need…then I should find the time and just do it.  During all the organizing, I kept coming across supplies for things that I’ve meant to make.  And while I like being a “crafty” sort of person, I love being a crafty person that finishes things even more.  

One of the projects that I finished over the weekend:

New “Boo-boo Bags.”  They’re basically just fabric I sew up into different shapes, fill with rice, and throw in the freezer for when the kids get hurt.  They work really well, and our old ones were really…well….old…and probably super gross.  I made some to go in the freezer and some for heating up as hot pads in the microwave.   I love them and they’re so easy to make.  I kept making them until I’d used up a 5 pound bag of rice.

captured_by_snapseed_21_1  Alright, lastly:

5. Knit a little everyday.  I get into the habit of being ‘all or nothing’ with my knitting.  If I can’t carve a couple of hours out of my day to knit then I don’t knit at all. Then I don’t finish things; then I feel terrible…and have nothing to blog about.  So I don’t care if I only get 10 minutes a day to knit…I’m knitting.

Lately, I’ve been too busy to knit on anything that requires thinking or planning or reading directions, so I’ve been grabbing the big, blue blanket.

captured_by_snapseed_22_1

I last mentioned this blanket way back in September, but it’s been slowly growing since then, and very soon I will run out of yarn, which makes me happy because for several months it was this giant bag of unused yarn taking up precious space in my craft cabinet.  Now it’s mostly a warm, snuggly blanket that covers my legs when I’m cold and I’m knitting.

So here’s to the new year almost one month in and to resolutions that can actually be kept!

18 thoughts on “Somewhere in the Middle

  1. You speak my language. I don’t like to knit for just a few minutes a day, I want hours. Life is just too busy, but your the second blogger to mention knitting every day, even just a row. I think I will try this and see how it goes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

