Shhh…don’t tell anyone

I have a little secret….

Sadly, for entertainment value purposes, it doesn’t hold any shock value, and it’s not really the kind of secret that would destroy my life if word got out.  Actually, now that I think about it, it’s probably not even really a secret (more like a tip), and if it were it would, most likely, classify as the least juicy secret ever to exist in the universe.

Hmmm…now I don’t know if I should share it because it is so incredibly lame, and I’ve built it up to be more than it is.

Ah well, I’ll go ahead and share it with you anyway.  Prepare yourselves for the most boring secret ever to meet your eyes:

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

…I use cosmetic bags for knitting projects.  BAM.  Secret revealed.

captured_by_snapseed_799_1
‘orla keily etc’ cosmetic bags found at my local Target.

 

Okay, that was pretty boring.  Aren’t they cute though?  Ladies?  Gents?  Are you squealing with delight at their charm and color?  I sure was when I saw them in the store.  Unfortunately (or maybe fortunately?), when I saw these on the shelves I wasn’t really in need of any more make-up bags.  But then it hit me:  I could use these for knitting.  They’re water-resistant, they have lots of room, and lots of little pockets…perfect for knitting projects!  I admit that zippers and knitting can be a troublesome combination sometimes (zippers like to eat strands of yarn), but in this case, I think it’s worth the risk.

Wanna see inside?  …well, I’m showing you anyway.

captured_by_snapseed_801_1Do you see that!?  Look at all those little compartments!  Magical.

Right now, I’m keeping my Elemental Linens placemat in the green one, and I love how it keeps the project all neat and organized.  It’s like opening a little gift I gave myself every time I unzip it.  (Merry Christmas, Me!  …Why thank you, Me!)  Oh, the happy times we have.

captured_by_snapseed_802_1For any of you interested in actual knitting–the placemat is still growing…slowly but beautifully.

I think maybe some of you may have figured out that I’m using the bags as a distraction though.…because I haven’t been knitting as much.

No worries though. Because while I’m still participating in my very own extravaganza of healthy and not so healthy cooking, I plan on knitting more over the weekend.  I’m realizing that if I don’t knit on those brown cardigans (Augusta and Wyeth…yes, I’ve given them their own names…just kidding, their creators did that…but I think I’ll call all my knitting projects by their names from now on…even when they’re finished…like pets) then they will not be finished by their mid-September goals.

I best get to it.

Happy weekend!

5 thoughts on “Shhh…don’t tell anyone

  1. OMG, you are a genius! I have many of these hiding in my linen closet that I could easily use… I’m running to gather them now and take the ones I want to use right now! Thanks for this wonderful tip! I don’t know why I never thought of this before… Heather

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi there :) you are genius and very skilled one.
    I love the shawl you started to knit is that possible so you could share with me stich guide? :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

