It All Goes So Fast

It’s hoppin’ around here today.  We’re getting ready for my son’s (wait for it)…

10th Birthday Weekend Extravaganza!!!

Okay, really it’s just a sleepover and then a small family party, but there are still things to be done.  Groceries are bought and a few presents were purchased earlier today, and so now all I have left is to bake a blue cake.  Oh, and clean…but there’s always that. He has chosen a blue cake because we are now doing some sort of Minecraft Mod theme.  Something to do with a “floating island mod” in a “Slime Biome.”  Don’t feel bad if you have no clue what any of that means…I don’t either.  Luckily, I’m not the cake decorator; I’m just the baker.  The husband is the decorator.  He posesses great and powerful skills in the frosting department.  I do not. I am a terrible, terrible cake decorator.  People don’t usually believe me when I say this because I’m crafty, but it’s completely true.  There have been a few “incidents” in the past: one involving gummy worm placement and a lack of creativity,  and another, where a fire truck almost had dark green wheels instead of black.  Very traumatic.  Seriously though, I cannot stress this enough…never, ever ask me to decorate a cake…I have no skills.

Speaking of cake decorating, I also want to give a quick (forthcoming) birthday shout out to my brother-in-law, Will.  He, like my Ben, is brilliant at cake decorating.  He’s also super funny, teaches art to children, paints and draws in his free time, helped make two of my beautiful nieces, and loves my sister…doesn’t get any better than that. Happy Birthday Will!

After all the birthday stuff is done, and if I have any time left today, I will continue to work on my Sandshore cardigan.  I’m just past the Raglan shaping, and I’m still really loving this knit.  The yarn I’m working with (Louisa Harding Delphine) has a chain construction, so it feels both like it has more give and is lighter than a standard plied cotton yarn.  Much easier on the hands.  

And finally today, though it doesn’t have a baby yet to snuggle (sorry Lolly ;)), is the finished and dry Lavender Baby Shawl (I switched it from blanket to shawl…now that it’s done, it looks more shawl-ish).

20140710_132413_1

It was knit from Cascade Yarns Pacific and a bit of Knitpicks Swish Worsted in Dove Gray.  Size US 10 (6mm) needles.  The pattern was mostly my own devising.  I started with a garter stitch square, then picked up and knit a few rounds in stockinette stitch with two increases at each corner (knit through front and back of stitch), next I threw in a diamond pattern from The Magic of Shetland Lace Knitting, knit a few more rounds of plain stockinette, threw in a couple of gray purl ridges, and lastly, bound off with picots.

20140710_132041_1

 

I still think it will look even better with a new, little, baby wrapped inside (and no, not mine), but for now, you all will have to settle for this pretty, lavender, baby shawl wrapped around my own “baby.”

20140710_113502_1Happy Thursday! :)

6 thoughts on “It All Goes So Fast

    1. I thought about asking a random stranger if I could wrap her newborn in a pretty blanket/shawl but rejected the idea because, well, I didn’t want to get punched in the face…mama bears are dangerous. I’m glad you were appeased though. ;)

      Like

Leave a Reply

