A Day at the Beach

Okay, truly, this summer vacation thing with the kids + any other work or activity (i.e. cleaning, knitting, blogging, maintaining sanity) requires a little better time management skills than I possess.  Seriously, I was going to blog yesterday about what a great Father’s Day my family enjoyed this past weekend and about the wonderfulness of my husband and my Dad (My husband is a fantastic Dad…funny, wise, fair, handsome, tall and many other wonderful things.  And my Dad made peanut butter cookies with us kids growing up, played catch, is also wise, and seems to be like a fine scotch–getting finer with age. I didn’t get to see my Dad this weekend, but I’ll get to see him soon ’cause my parents are coming for a visit soon.)

But instead of spending time doing anything knitting or blogging related, the kids and I decided to go to “the beach.”  Can you really call it a beach if it’s on a lake/manmade reservoir and not an ocean?

Anyway, we went to the beach, and my kids had a grand and lovely time.

20140616_120902_1

 

I had an interesting time.  I took some knitting (still working on the second sock of the “64 socks”), a book, snacks, water, beach toys, life jackets, a weatherproof blanket and more.  I was prepared.  I even took a beach umbrella.  I bought it at the end of last summer for a very discounted price, and I was super proud of my thriftiness.  You can see the umbrella there at the top of the picture.  It was lovely and shady and a little windy.  Then the kids asked if I would go in the water with them, and I was all “sure, of course, right after I fold down the umbrella; we don’t want it blowing away.”  That was when the trouble started.  The directions for the umbrella said there should be a red button you push to close it.  I looked.  I searched.  I reread the directions. I must’ve spent at least 15 minutes trying to figure it out.  There was no red button.  There was, however, a metal thing and another twisted looking little metal thing.  These metal things seemed to have button potential.  I pushed one in, but the other one wouldn’t go…on account of the twistiness.  So I decided this wasn’t a problem; I could just straighten it out. I’m very handy and resourceful.  I had seen an older guy with some tool that looked like giant pliers (my weird description leads my husband to believe that they were “channel-lock” pliers), so I asked him if I could borrow it (them?).  He was kind enough to let me do so, and as I sat with a beach umbrella in an odd position trying to straighten a tiny piece of metal with giant non-spring loaded pliers, and the gentle breeze turning into more of a gust, I thought for sure that I would hurt myself.  But I didn’t, and I gave myself a little mental pat on the back and handed the man back his pliers.

…Then I proceeded to try and fold down the umbrella.  Now, I’m not exactly sure if that little twisty piece of metal was supposed to be twisty, but what happened next made me second guess my resourceful genius because as I went to fold down the umbrella, the little piece of plastic that you push to open the umbrella didn’t go down.  It went up.  It went up and trapped the index finger of my left hand in a death grip.  It was like my finger was stuck in a tiny bear trap.  I could not get my finger out.  I was panicked.  I tried to get it out, but the wind kept catching the umbrella.  It seemed pretty bleak.  I was afraid I was going to rip part of my finger if I just yanked it out, so I kept trying to figure it out.  I thought for sure I was going home minus a finger.  It hurt.  Then finally (not sure what I did) it was free.  My finger was definitely pinched looking, but everything seemed pretty okay.  And today you can’t even tell anything happened to my finger.  It looks perfectly normal.  The only problem, as far as I can tell, is that the end of my finger has now been completely numb for 35 hours.  I can’t “feel” anything with that finger.  Do you think that means something?

Ah well.  At least I can still knit…and type.

I didn’t get any knitting done at the beach, but I managed to finish a few little projects over the weekend.

captured_by_snapseed_730_1
That’s the finger that got Umbrella trapped yesterday…looks normal…still numb though.
captured_by_snapseed_729_1
Yarn: Patons ColorWul

That top photo is a coaster for my husband to take to work.  It’s just a mitered square.  I made him one a few years ago out of the same yarn, and it’s done its job of holding coffee and tea and protecting desks, but it might be a little stained (at least it absorbed the spills…well done, wool).  So now he has a backup with a little loop.  Just in case he wants to hang it up (I just giggled while I typed that because that’s probably not gonna happen…ever).

The bottom pic is a just a hot pad/oven mitt thing.  It’s double thick, and it will slowly get felted as I use it and wash it and use it and wash it.  Very practical.

I also had time to make the tiniest swatch for the Paulie cardigan that I want to start.

captured_by_snapseed_731_1I can’t decide between using grey as the stripe or using cream.  Opinions?  I’m stumped.

By the way, that red-orange yarn is bright.  It’s almost neon.  I love it.  It would definitely not be everyone’s cup of tea, but every time I look at it, I let out a little squeak of joy (at least I think I do…might be in my head).

Anyway, I hope you all had wonderful weekends…I can’t believe it’s already Tuesday.

 

3 thoughts on “A Day at the Beach

Leave a Reply

