Flag Day = Love

I don’t usually post on weekends, but it’s Flag Day here in the U.S.!

Yarn: South West Trading Co…Jezebel.  I'm thinking about making this cardigan with the red and cream and this with the blue.
Yarn: South West Trading Co…Jezebel. I’m thinking about making this cardigan with the red and cream and this tee or this with the blue.

 

Why would I want to post something special on Flag Day, you ask?  Well, while I appreciate all that the flag represents, the real reason I’m posting today is because it’s my Grandma Peggy’s birthday.  I love that her birthday is on Flag Day because it’s pre marked on my calendar every year, so I never forget. :)  (Except for that one year when I mistook Mexican Flag Day for Flag Day here and almost sent her flowers on the wrong day entirely.)

Happy Birthday Grandma Peggy!

I love my Grandma, very much. She’s been through a lot in this life and she’s strong and sensitive and full of love.  She raised 5 kids…including twins!…and a very rascally husband.;)  She loves her family and she loves babies and kids (and passed that trait on to my Mom…thank you for that, Grandma!)   She hates snakes, likes fishing and computer games, and she’s an excellent cook.– There are dishes in our family that are very Midwestern/”Down home cooking” that have been passed down from generation to generation.  Pork chops and white gravy, anyone?…garden lettuce with that crazy good (bacon, vinegar, sugar) warm vinegarette…yummy!  And can I just tell you that my love of coffee stems from the late nights when we would go over to my Grandparent’s, staying up late playing cards and drinking pots of coffee. Good times.  It’s one of my favorite things about my Grandma….she loves to have fun.  She’s hopefully on her way to having fun now.  

Love you, Grandma!  Happy Birthday again, I hope you have an amazing day!  Oh, and the kids say ‘Hi’:

captured_by_snapseed_724_1
Tilly and Dodge on the Hippo statue at the Denver Zoo

Happy Flag Day!

 

4 thoughts on “Flag Day = Love

Leave a Reply

