Miss Pretty Pretty and the Little Bits

When the kids were little(er) we watched a funny little cartoon, and in this cartoon there was a doll called Miss Pretty Pretty.  For some reason I latched on to that name and whenever I would dress Tilly in a pretty little dress or she would act fussy (or the combination of dress plus fussiness) I would call her Miss Pretty Pretty (and maybe I would laugh a little).

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA
Seen here being Miss Pretty Pretty circa 2008

My friend Larissa has three boys.  Baby #4 is on the way any day now– possibly any minute.  And Baby #4 is thought to be a girl.  Now Larissa is sometimes unpredictable fashion wise (alternative, punk, bohemian, normal, eclectic, vintage…with the occasional Converse shoes thrown in); and while I don’t know exactly what she will dress her little girl in…I figured one fussy little lace dress (that turns into a shirt as the baby grows) couldn’t hurt.

I give you the secret baby project:

Muti Dress by Taiga Hilliard Designs.  Size 0-3 months. Yarn: Schaffhauser Wolle Mon Amour.  Colorway 28
Muti Dress by Taiga Hilliard Designs. Size 0-3 months. Yarn: Schaffhauser Wolle Mon Amour. Colorway 28

I have to tell you that I had some issues while knitting this.  I am, sometimes, a moron.  (Bare with me on this next part non-knitters…it’s technical-ish).  This dress is knitted from the top down and it starts out as flat knitting, and the top is very clearly (shown here) lace with a stockinette background. I, however, did lace with a garter stitch background.  I also knit the top part (also called the yoke) probably a total of three times because I kept getting distracted, messing up, ripping back, knitting, messing up, ripping back, etc.…you get the idea.  When I finally realized my mistake there was just no way I was gonna rip it out and start over.  Besides, I was pretty sure Larissa wouldn’t care.

So I finished the knitting of it, washed it, and blocked it.

captured_by_snapseed_690_1

I used my foolproof drying method of traveling around with it in my car whilst doing errands.  If it's small enough. I pin it on foam board…looks a little like I'm studying a gigantic species of butterfly.
I used my foolproof drying method of traveling around with it in my car whilst doing errands. If a project is small enough I pin it on foam board…looks a little like I’m studying a gigantic species of butterfly.

I sewed on buttons for the back.  Tilly helped me choose.

captured_by_snapseed_701_1The best part though is when I discovered something else I had stashed away for Larissa’s baby awhile back.

captured_by_snapseed_702_1

Look! See that! They match the dress!

I’m not usually the matchy-matchy type, but darn it, if that’s not adorable I don’t know what is. — Miss Pretty Pretty and the matching Converse faux shoesI’m in baby dreamland…there might be giggling and contented sighing.

There’s black too because you just can’t beat a classic.

captured_by_snapseed_703_1I hope her little girl will have her own fussy little moments in this fussy little dress.  Perhaps it could even see her through a temper tantrum or two.  One never knows.

Well, I finished the little dress a couple of weekends ago, but this past weekend I just knit on some little bits here and there.

I-cord that's gonna be a trivet, an almost finished pot holder, and I-cord straps for my giant pink slippers.
Gray I-cord that’s going to be a trivet/hotpad, an almost finished pot holder, and I-cord straps for my giant pink slippers.

I also spent time looking through patterns.  I think I’ll start a cardigan for myself soon…and maybe some mittens, and I still need to finish that fairy quilt….hmmmm.  I’ll get it all nailed down soon enough, but now I’m thinking only about dinner.  My husband (glorious man) is making it, and it smells really good.  I’m off.  Happy Tuesday!

 

 

7 thoughts on “Miss Pretty Pretty and the Little Bits

  1. love the picture of our original “Mis Pretty pretty’!! love the little dress and shoes!! thanks for sharing your happy outlook, Kimmy!!! I may have to share the pic of Ms. Stella!!! :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

