Moments

Yesterday I found out that friends and family that I love lost someone who they love.  It was an accident, and it was sudden and tragic and she was too young.  I didn’t know her well but knew of her, and so, I cobbled my feelings and words together in hopes that it would bring comfort and momentarily lessen the shock that comes with knowing someone is alive and well and then suddenly gone. Not much can help.  And so, my thoughts yesterday just couldn’t focus on anything else.

Today, though, is new.  And tragedy always brings with it a new or different perspective….everything is so much more precious…every moment.

This morning my daughter and I drank warm drinks on the balcony and watched the squirrels play (Tilly named the closest pair Jaj and Melly (and then Josh and Medley)); we watched the wild, roaming herds of bunny rabbits hop away from the city dogs on leashes.  We talked to our neighbors.  Later, we went out and ate ice cream, and I didn’t make the kids rush or hurry to finish.   We sat and talked and laughed and dripped ice cream.  And I started a sock.

captured_by_snapseed_693_1
Yarn: Patons Kroy Socks. Colorway: Sing ‘n the Blues Stripes (I had already planned to use this yarn…the name is coincidental …and cheesy).

I had been meaning to cast on a pair of socks with this yarn (love these colors), and today seemed like a good day for it.  I cast on 64 stitches and then asked my kids to help me remember for the next sock.  My son, Dodge, told me it was his favorite number (on account of Nintendo 64 games), so he would definitely remember.  He dubbed them “the 64 socks.”  Cute.  I’m loving the moments.

This past weekend (and a little bit) I finished up the secret project I’ve been working on for Larissa’s new baby.  I’m not really good with surprises…keeping them or liking them (my imagination ups the expectations to an unreasonable level), but it does feel a little more special.  I’m mailing “the surprise” and the Baby Surprise Jacket (ironically not the surprise) tomorrow because new life will be happening very, very soon.  Here’s a glimpse…just to keep the expectations in check:

captured_by_snapseed_689_1

I’ll do a big post on this as soon as she gets it in the mail because…well, it deserves it.

Update on other current projects:  I remembered, after I had 4 or 5 projects on the needles, that one of the reasons I so enjoy knitting is because it is the only thing in my life that I can finish… and stays finished.  I think in the future I will keep a firmer command of the projects I decide to cast on….more of a parade (one or two at a time) and less of a party (several all at once).  Lesson learned.

I like getting the projects finished and not just hanging around staring at me, looking like unfinished slippers and blankets.

captured_by_snapseed_687_1
This yarn really is THAT bright…probably more so.

captured_by_snapseed_688_1

I did get the sock family all finished and sewn up though.  And just like any real family, this one has some troublemakers and some issues.  But I love them.  They are warm and cozy and thick.  I will be very pleased with myself when the cold weather comes back around.

captured_by_snapseed_686_1That’s all I’ve got for today, so I’m off to enjoy more moments,

and I hope very much that you all do too!

…and I should probably clean something and drink coffee while I’m at it.

 

3 thoughts on “Moments

  1. I’m glad you took time to find moments of wonderful life today. Pretty jealous of your sock family, they look fantastic! The blue yarn promises to be pretty awesome as socks too. I’m really looking forward to the mail!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

