Alright Already

I started another pair of socks.  I know this was risky because I haven’t finished the slippers for my niece yet; my husband even pointed out to me that I was setting myself up for trouble (via Monday’s post) but I did it anyway.

I had every intention of showing you finished slippers today.  Pretty and pink and kitten-esque…just the way Jules would want them.  I thought about how my little 7-year-old niece would get them in the mail, open up the package, and her eyes (big and blue, of course) would light up…she would probably even hug these perfectly pink slippers and sigh from contentedness thinking dearly of her Aunt Kimmy (I need a new nickname…).  Yep.

I was knitting along on the newly cast on socks, thinking all of these beautiful, dreamy thoughts about slippers, and I have to tell you, everything was going great.  No problems….none at all.  And I thought I had the whole “knitting curse” thing beat.  I was winning.

Sorry for the bad lighting, but I realized I hadn’t shown you any ‘on the needles’ pics. I use DPNs to knit socks (when I get to choose).

Then I switched over to the slippers.  These are possibly the easiest slippers I have ever had the privilege to knit.   I feel I should be honest at this point and say that I’m not a big fan of making slippers or even (gasp) little shoes…cute as they may be.  In fact, the cuteness and practicality (of slippers — I think we can all agree that while baby shoes are adorable, they are not necessarily practical) of little foot wear is what compels me to knit (or crochet) them…but they remain my second, least favorite thing to knit (losing out only to crocheted or knitted dolls and toys).  So, anyway, I was happy to find a less irritating pattern, and was happily knitting.

An hour and a half later, when I should’ve been done with the slipper, and on to knitting little kitty ears,  I wasn’t.  I think I may have even had negative progress (knitting regress?).  I started with 5 and a half inches knit and gave up at 5 inches.  How is this?

Well, I was knitting along and realized that I had knit to 6 inches.  (It’s  a stretchy slipper and I’m changing the pattern to fit a 7-year-old instead of a size 7 woman’s foot.  Shouldn’t be difficult.)  So, after thinking about when to start the toe decreases, I decided to rip it back to 5 inches.  So I did.  Then I started decreasing for the toes.  All was going well…until it wasn’t.  I had the wrong ratio.  Unknit it back to 5 inches.  Started decreases again.  About 5 rows into the decreases, I noticed a little lonely loop glaring at me (hazard of knitting with two yarns held together).  I dropped down to the stitch; I needed to pick up the lonely loop.  Let’s just say, I wasn’t successful.  Ripped it back to 5 inches…again.  Put the stitches back on the needle.  Put the pink slipper aside.

So, I finished more socks.  captured_by_snapseed_546_1Same yarn as the last socks…slightly altered design.  Shorter, tighter, more ribbing, and a square-ier toe.

captured_by_snapseed_547_1

You can see the toe difference here.  It just so happens that I have those freakish toes where the second toe is longer than the big toe (thanks, Dad).  I always find the toes on hand knit socks to be too squeezy and uncomfortable…so I gave up and altered it to be less elegant but much more comfortable.

captured_by_snapseed_548_1

I think I have enough yarn left, so I plan on adding one more pair of socks to this ‘sock family.’

I think I’ll go finish those slippers before I start anything new though.  Don’t want to take any chances.

 

4 thoughts on “Alright Already

  1. it’s always best to be careful :P Some days I just have to admit that for no discernible reason I’m knitting like a barrel of monkeys on crack, and when that happens I just need to switch to something entirely plain.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I decreased to 12 stitches per needle (24 total)…as opposed to the recommended 16 total then Kitchener stitched them. It didn’t cause me any extra grief. The end of the toe ended up being almost 2 inches wide.

      Like

Leave a Reply

