Seams to me…

Here’s a quick post for today because I don’t have anything new to show you…yet.  For you non-knitters, this post is a little technical, but read away if you desire. ;)

Yesterday when I got around to sewing the seams on the Baby Surprise Jacket I realized I didn’t know the best way to do it.  So I googled and I Raveled, but I didn’t find exactly the sewing tutorial I was looking for, so I decided to ‘trial and error’ it.  I’m sure I’m not the first to use this method, but I came up with it out of my own brain yesterday, so here you go.

Demo of seam stitchThe pink yarn is what I was actually using to sew the seam (so ignore it for now), and the white yarn is just for demonstration purposes.  I think this is just a form of mattress stitch but specifically for joining a Bind off edge in garter stitch with a side edge in garter stitch.  It’s stretchy and not bulky at all.  Just make sure you don’t go too far over or you’ll make the neck edge smaller.  You basically go through two loops on each edge…just follow the arrows.  I put yellow lines over what would be the next two stitches on each side to sew through (one of them has a black line; that’s a typo; pretend it’s yellow).

So above, the yarn is showing what it looks like before it’s pulled together.  Here’s the after:

captured_by_snapseed_498_1

Again, ignore the pink yarn.  See how the white yarn is just barely peeking through?  It’s fantastic.  This is showing from the right side of the work, which is how you sew it…right sides facing out…wrong sides together facing in…just like sewing mattress stitch.

Here’s the view of seams from the inside:

captured_by_snapseed_505_1There you have it.  Stretchy, pretty seams.  I have to be honest and say that I’m posting this (a little bit) for selfish reasons…I don’t want to forget how to do this…very neat and handy.

Have a happy weekend!

 

4 thoughts on “Seams to me…

Leave a Reply

