Fresh Air

I need some.  I’ve been attempting a massive reorganization and cleaning overhaul over the last week or two. Attempting being the operative word there.  The reason? Well, our apartment is small…I think I might’ve mentioned that before.  It’s also dark.  Okay, that’s an exaggeration, but it gets very little natural light in the living, dining, and kitchen areas, and those are the areas where we “live” the most, so it feels dark.  Also, there’s just too much stuff and clutter, so that (for me) adds to the darkness. It needs the constant attention of making sure clothes, jackets, shoes, kids stuff, craft stuff, paperwork, and books don’t take over…someone’s been neglecting this work…probably the maid…oh wait, that’s me.  Thus the organizing and cleaning…and getting rid of stuff.  Today was “Sort Through school papers, excess paperwork, junk mail, etc. Day.”  Very freeing…I can feel a little of the darkness lightening.  The other thing that brightens darkness:

captured_by_snapseed_459_1This little sweater I’m knitting.  It’s got enough rainbow brightness to lift my spirit for sure.  I’m also really enjoying how it can go from looking like a rectangular yarn blob (above)…captured_by_snapseed_460_1to (with the help of a little knitting-origami action) a little sweater in the works.  Amazing.

My weekend was a bright spot as well.  Spending time with my little family for Easter, a phone chat with my Dad, knitting, and chicken and waffles.  Shiny.

Hope you all had “bright” weekends too. :)  Happy Monday!

 

5 thoughts on “Fresh Air

  1. I know what you mean about the darkness. The DH recently (i.e. a few week ago) cleaned all of his tools and stuff from his work van since he works in the office now. Guess where all that ended up? My living room. I need to act now, I’m starting to get used it to…. /sigh

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ooh, yikes, tools in the living room? I feel your pain… I let my hubs keep his tools in our dining room at one town home we lived in. Now they’re mostly in our bedroom. I look at them and *sigh* often.

      Like

  2. Usually when I have a task that just feels too big and tedious, I set a timer and spend 30 minutes at a time on it, then move on to something else. You’d be surprised at how much you can accomplish 30 minutes at a time!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

