Two Birds

Whew…I have been knitting a lot!  I should have a good portion of the Baby Surprise Jacket underway…yep, I should.  I started it on Tuesday afternoon and have been working on it in my free time.

It seems, though, as if something went awry in my head on Tuesday afternoon, and I lost my ability to count to 160. That’s the amount of stitches that must be cast on in order to make this little jacket.  Did I do that?…nope.  I cast on who knows how many stitches in my first attempt, knit until I reached row 11, then realized I didn’t have the right amount.  It’s important to have the correct amount of stitches on the 11th row; it’s an increasing row (more stitches are added) and if you don’t have the correct amount of stitches to start with then it doesn’t work out.

I googled.  Found a chart.

So, I started again.  Ripped everything right out and started over.  I knit all the way to Row 11 again only to realize I was 12 stitches short.  12 stitches!  That’s a lot of stitches.  That’s the equivalent of 2 inches (about 5cm).  That would mean that I was attempting to make a baby jacket with 2 whole inches missing.  I googled anything I could find about the pattern again.  You know, just to make sure that the late, great Elizabeth Zimmermann and the thousands and thousands of other people who have knit this since the pattern was published in the Fall of ’68 hadn’t messed up.

*Cough…nope, it was all me.  So I found a new chart, one that tells what the stitch count is at the end of each row.  Then I drank a cup of cocoa, scowled at my knitting, and went to bed.

I spent the night dreaming in the same colors as the tropical fish-colored yarn and tossing and turning from the tiny amount of caffeine and/or sugar from the hot chocolate.  Today I remained sleepy yet determined.  I ripped out my project once more, started over, and thankfully, seem to be succeeding.  I am on row 12 now.  After 3 attempts.  Only 102 more rows to go.

I have watched E.Z's Knitting Workshop DVD's and am mesmerized by her.  If you've never been to the East coast (which I haven't) then the best way I can describe her is to say that she reminds me a little of Mrs. Doubtfire (from the movie of the same name).
I have watched E.Z’s Knitting Workshop DVD’s and am mesmerized by her. If you’ve never been to the East coast (which I haven’t) then the best way I can describe her is to say that she reminds me a little of Mrs. Doubtfire (from the movie of the same name).

This morning I  left the wee bundle of obnoxious jacket took the green scarf to a doctor’s appointment so it wouldn’t start whining about being unfinished and mumbling about baby surprise jackets. And just to appease it a little more:captured_by_snapseed_415_1It’s helping me keep track of decrease stitches.  Does that count as working on the green scarf?  Same yarn.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Two Birds

  1. Totally counts! I hate ripping out and do it often, but ususally it makes me more devoted to the project and I feel as though I persevered and accomplished something great. I bought the BSJ pattern years ago and I just haven’t made one yet…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

