I’ve Turned a Corner

Thank you all for helping me choose buttons.  It seems I am incapable of making button choices on my own.  I don’t know why, too much of a commitment?   (’cause knitting isn’t a commitment at all…)  

captured_by_snapseed_397_1
Materials: US 8 needles, yarn is Cascade 220 Superwash in colorway Amethyst Heather held double with some purple Red Heart Shimmer.

Personally, I think these “kitty slippers” look a little more like bunnies than kitties…the ears are too close together to be kitten ears.  I’m sure Adi can figure out which animal she wants them to be.  Sadly, I neglected to pay attention to when her birthday party takes place, so these little guys and their friends won’t make it to the party; though they should, hopefully, get there by her actual birthday.

As for my sister’s scarf…

captured_by_snapseed_398_1

I’ve turned the corner…but that means it’s only half done.  I’m fully expecting the second half to go faster (the way this stitch pattern (possibly cell stitch?) behaves makes the *K2tog’s a much bigger pain than they should be…it makes a girl appreciate a good *SSK).  Oh, and I found the second skein of this yarn with the ball band fully intact.  It’s this:

Yarn: Deborah Norville Collection Serenity Garden Yarn.  Color: Crocus
Yarn: Deborah Norville Collection Serenity Garden Yarn. Color: Crocus

Now, I’ve mentioned using Red Heart Shimmer acrylic for the slippers, and now I’m using microfiber yarn for the scarf?!  I know, I know…the purists among you are gasping.  For the newbies or non-knitters:  there exist, in the knitting universe, people who are referred to as “yarn snobs.” These are people who will only knit with natural fibers, i.e. cotton, wool, silk, alpaca, cashmere, etc.  I, more often than not, proudly fall into the yarn snob category.  Give me natural fibers any day of the week; just thinking about the silk/alpaca/wool blends in my stash makes my heart beat a little faster, but I have learned a few things about giving natural-fiber gifts to non-knitters over the years.

  1.  To the common Midwesterner (at least in my hometown/state), yarn is precious and intimidating.  I have known people who have never washed an afghan because they were too afraid of what might happen…even though, in the Midwest, the afghans (that I saw) were usually made from RedHeart acrylic.  It is as if the caring for of natural fibers (barring cotton) fell into some sort of Dark Ages.  My hometown desperately needs a yarn shop.
  2.  I gave an Alpaca/Silk blend scarf to a friend recently (you know who you are K.D.L. ;) ) and her husband washed it into a shrunken, felted, yarn mass.  I’m not gonna lie…that hurt…I put on a brave front, but the loss was great.  …and yes, for those of you who were about to ask; I did tell her how it must be washed…neglected to tell the husband though.

Those are just a couple of reasons I have for using a little acrylic, polyester, or microfiber every once in a while, but one of the main reasons I’m using microfiber for my sister’s scarf is “the scratchiness factor.”  I have knitted things out of what I think is some of the softest yarn ever, but non-knitters will claim that it’s “a little scratchy.”  This spells doom for the knitted item…it will not be worn.  And, frankly, there is just too much time involved in knitting for that to be an acceptable fate.

So, my sister is really sensitive…literally.  Her skin is super, crazy, amazingly sensitive.  A little irritation around the neck and splotchy redness ensues (sorry sister, I’ve outed your skin.  I just made myself giggle…’cause it’s skin…it’s “out”…I am a giant nerd.)  Anyhoo, microfiber is soft, it can be washed and dried easily, and it comes in lots of pretty colors.  It also doesn’t contain any plant or animal flotsam or pokey bits that can sometimes end up being spun into natural yarns.  It is purely un-scratchy.  As a bonus, I actually think this yarn is quite pretty.

Now, after having said all that, the purple scarf isn’t finished yet.  It will get mailed as soon as it is…but, just to be safe, I had mentioned a backup scarf.

The backup is a scarf that I knitted for myself last Fall for this Spring, but I’ve moved on to new yarns since then (green scarf, I’m talking to you).  It’s a circle scarf with some garter stitch bits and some simple lace.  It is a part cotton and part cotton/wool blend.  I think it’s soft, and the colors remind me of peaches and cream.  Let’s find out what the (mostly) non-knitter with the sensitive skin thinks, shall we?

Yarn:  Cascade Yarns Sierra (ivory),  Araucania Chacabuco Solid (terra cotta).
Yarn: Cascade Yarns Sierra (ivory), Araucania Chacabuco Solid (terra-cotta).

Oh, and Sister, feel free to find it a new home if it’s not your thing. :)

Have a happy weekend everyone!

P.S. If any of you are the praying kind, my sis-in-law Corrie (mother to 3 week old Lena), is in the hospital with pneumonia…send a few up for her, will you?  Very much appreciated! Update:  Corrie is now home and mending, but still not 100%.

(*knit 2 stitches together & *slip slip knit)  Update: My husband brought it to my attention that telling him what the letters stood for still didn’t tell him what these things mean.  They are ways to decrease a stitch in knitting.  One slants the stitch to the left and the other to the right.  

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “I’ve Turned a Corner

  1. I agree with all of the above except ‘amazingly.’ My skin is very ‘un-amazingly’ sensitive. I wish it were not so. But such is life. Adi asked me this morning if our presents have come in the mail. I told her not yet, but we’re both anxious and excited. She doesn’t even know what it is and she’s excited…I’ll post pics when they arrive. :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

