What? It’s April already?

Parts of yesterday got the better of me, and so I ditched you guys.  I would say I’m sorry, but instead I have something to show you.  It’s not knitting because yesterday got the better of me on that account too…

1980s Lundy Dollhouse
1980s (Lundby of Sweden) Dollhouse

I had a lot of running around to do yesterday, and in between runnings I stopped at a thrift store to see if I could find a copy of A.A Milne’s Winnie-the-Pooh (the kids and I just finished James and the Giant Peach and mentioning Winnie the other day reminded me that I want to read it to the kids (again)).  Anyway, I found a copy of the book and also this dollhouse.  It’s from a Swedish company called Lundby (they’re still around), and I believe it’s either a 1982 model or a 1984 model…either way I love it.  The inside is in great condition; just needed a quick clean up.  The outside had a couple of issues though.

torn roof paper
torn roof paper
captured_by_snapseed_367_1
water mark?…hopefully

So I was searching the internet trying to see if there was anything I could do and came across a website that had printouts of the old roof and wall papers.  I had to do a little touching up with the old Prismacolor colored pencils I’ve had since college (possibly the only time when being an art major has paid off).

captured_by_snapseed_369_1captured_by_snapseed_368_1

Not perfect but better. :)
Not perfect but better. :)

The bonus of the dollhouse is that it inspired me to organize the kids room yesterday evening, so now they have a dollhouse and an organized room…dreamy.

captured_by_snapseed_376_2
Tilly and the Dollhouse

 

This week has absolutely flown by and at times I completely forgot it was April already, so I’d like to give a (late) “Happy Birthday” shout out (for the last of the March birthdays) to my sister-in-law, Bree (the one for whom I made this).  You are an amazing woman and you’ve made my little brother a better man; I’m so glad to know you. :) Also, the two of you together bear a strikingly odd resemblance to Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence (even more when she has short blonde hair)…beautiful. Love you!

Join me next week when I still haven’t finished the green scarf but have started attempts to finish two pairs of slippers and another purple scarf that needs to be finished in a week.

One thought on “What? It’s April already?

Leave a Reply

