Fool’s Gold

I think today I’ll deep clean my kitchen.

April Fools!

Got you, mhmm….sure did.

Actually, I don’t really like April Fool’s Day.  I am not tricksy and I don’t lie for fun….I’m not even good with surprises.  I actually did have plans to deep clean my kitchen today, but I don’t know if I’ll get to it…gotta get this blog post written (cough) …muy importante.  If you like April Fool’s Day then I probably can’t be your friend (she says while giggling).

Moving on to scarf related business: progress on the green scarf abounds.  It is in the scarf knitting phase of “still fun,” but I’m sure that it will quickly morph into the phase of “endless and mind-numbing” as most scarves do.

Lace Ribbon Scarf.
Lace Ribbon Scarf from yesterday.  Weird lighting, sorry about that.

Now I am not knitting this in the yarn suggested in the pattern.  My yarn is a whole different gauge (size and weight) and thus, my scarf will be wider than the pattern indicates (probably shorter too).  It’s all squished up in the above photo, so it’s hard to tell the width.  Let me show you it stretched out.

 

captured_by_snapseed_356_1
At this point it would make a good table runner (if I was into table runners).

It’s gonna be snuggly, silky, and fantastic.  I can’t wait until it’s finished!  Woo!  Speaking of woo…

Have I mentioned yet that my kids went back to school today?  It’s just me and the gerbils.  No little lady pretending she doesn’t feel well and asking for candy (not sure what the logic was on that one, but she attempted it nonetheless).  No strapping young lad asking for the millionth time if he may play Minecraft on the computer. Nope, it is silent (barring gnawing sounds coming from the gerbil cage), and it lasts for about 5 hours.  Enough time to get things done and still have plenty ‘o time with the children before and after school.  Makes me wonder how I’ll feel when Summer Vacation comes calling.  Well, in the meantime, I better craft my heart out….wanna see something?

Avert your eyes if you don’t like yellow (I’m talking to you Grandma Peggy)!

captured_by_snapseed_352_1_1

This is a fancy shelf I picked up from the thrift store a couple of years ago.  It’s plastic, and it started out black with gold trim.  First I painted it light blue, then white, and now…pow!yellow.  Super yellow; yellow on steroids.  Ben hates this shelf (can’t figure out why…the man lacks whimsy…but not much else ;) ) and is always trying to get me to sell it.  The problem is that if I sell it then I will have no place for the children’s nesting doll collection…they even have some special ones from Ben’s Aunt and Uncle who are currently living in Russia (hope you guys are okay over there…it seems intense from what I hear in the news).  (Also, couldn’t find where I temporarily placed the collection this morning, so pardon my cross-stitched substitute).  Anyway, I have told the husband that I will try to sell it.  Husband, stop reading here.

Do you think asking $300 for a plastic, spray painted shelf is too much?  (hee hee…it might take a while to sell…maybe I’m “tricksy”-er than I thought).

 

4 thoughts on “Fool’s Gold

  1. LOVeing the scarf! I don’t know if it is the yarn or the lighting, but it just like it sprung from nature. Like a moss-covered tree. Probably sounds weird…

    Color is awesome and I love to use it. I like whatever pops and your shelf does that. If you want to go eye-searing you should try neon safety cone orange. That’ll blow out some eyes :)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I get the ‘moss covered tree’ thing. I agree, the pattern and the yarn have that beautiful, intriguing, ‘natural’ thing going on. The yarn does have an inner mossy glow. :)

    Maybe I should have a neon room and paint everything in it freaky bright with white walls…the husband would love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

