All in a Day’s Work

I diligently finished knitting a sleeve over the weekend, then I wove in lots of yarn ends (the only downside of stripes), then I gave the cardigan a nice bath.

I am using Soak (no rinse wool wash) here, but have no brand preference.
I am using Soak (no-rinse wool wash) here, but have no brand preference.

If you are my non-knitting friends and family, then you may not know how deep the knitting underworld goes, but trust me, it’s deep.  There is knitting lingo.  There is an online community.  And there are (gasp) famous knitters.  My very favorite knitting writer/humorist/blogger is Stephanie Pearl-McPhee…the Yarn Harlot (google her if you wish).  She recently wrote a very lovely post about blocking (making your knitting look finished).  Now, as it happens, I am of the same mindset as the Yarn Harlot when it comes to washing and blocking.  Some people simply steam, but my preference is a full immersion bath/soak unless I am in a great hurry.

However, occasionally, this method can have its drawbacks.  For instance, in last Friday’s post I promised that the Clam Digger Cardigan would be finished, blocked, photographed, and ready for posting today.  I do not break promises…(barring emergencies, catastrophes, and all that).  However, this morning, the cardigan was still soaking wet a little damp.  I always underestimate the amount of time woolish things take to dry, and oddly, even though Colorado has an arid climate, my apartment remains curiously humid.  So after a few interesting attempts to dry it faster (possibly involving a hair dryer and/or poking holes in foam board with a knitting needle), I had an idea.  What could possibly be warmer/dryer than a car in Colorado on a warm, sunny day?  Not much.

So, the damp cardigan ran errands with me and my kids.

There it is on some foam board in my trunk.
There it is on some foam board in my trunk.  Do you see those things at the bottom?  Bonus project.  Matching leg warmers.  Size US 5 DPNs, same yarn, Cast on 40 stitches (would’ve used smaller DPNs for the ribbing, but didn’t have any in the car while knitting).

A couple of errands later, and it was ready for wearing.  The children and I took it to the park.

captured_by_snapseed_311 (1)
Gray leopard print jeans are maybe not what I would pair these knits with, but I’m not arguing with a 6 year-old who agrees to actually wear the things I knit.

We don’t have any oceans (no clam digging for us), but we’ve got lakes, so that’s where we went.

captured_by_snapseed_317

 

captured_by_snapseed_347

 

And as an added bonus, if the day turns a little chilly and windy, you can just rip the leg warmers right off your daughter and use them as hand warmers instead.  I’m practically an evil genius.

captured_by_snapseed_335

Another project done.  What I need to do now is to sit down and finish the fairy quilt, but I may have slipped and fallen into another knitting project over the weekend.  This one’s for me.

Lace Ribbon Scarf from Knitty: Spring 2008.  Yarn: Plymouth Yarn, Royal Llama Linen.  40% Fine Llama, 35% Silk, 25% Linen
Lace Ribbon Scarf from Knitty: Spring 2008. Yarn: Plymouth Yarn, Royal Llama Linen. 40% Fine Llama, 35% Silk, 25% Linen

How was your Monday?

 

 

7 thoughts on “All in a Day’s Work

  1. Loving the sweater! The colors are wonderful and the leg warmers perfect!

    You said you knitted something to go with and I was expecting a hat or mittens. Instead you go off knitting leg warmers that double as hand warmers!

    Royal Llama Linen sounds yummy! I imagine it’d be soft but sturdy from the fiber contents. I’ve never used (heard) it myself. How do you like the yarn? I might need to go yarn window shopping…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! The leg warmers came about because I had some bamboo DPNs with me from the sleeve cuff, and I had forgotten how fun they are to knit with….smooth and light. Also, knitting leg warmers have all the fun of sock knitting without the fuss of a heel. I kinda hate knitting heels.

      The Royal Llama Linen yarn (for the scarf) might be discontinued. :( I found it in a local yarn shop, but it’s kind of an odd shop in that it’s got really large storage in the back and I think they keep pulling some older stuff out. They also have a gigantic room in which everything is either 75% off or $3/skein. (Now I want to go shopping.) It is really nice yarn though, it’s sturdy but silky soft.

      Like

  2. I love how this turned out! It is just too cute for words! (I even like it with the leopard print pants. Your little lady is FIERCE!) I find myself with this urge to knit leg warmers lately, like if I knit leg warmers I’ll actually do yoga to go with them (not likely)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, knit leg warmers! They are so fast. And, bonus, after you’ve just finished knitting socks (nice Leyburns, by the way) they’re a breeze. I don’t know how motivational they are for Yoga, but you could definitely be admiring them in all the different positions.

      P.S. You are Tilly’s new favorite lady…everybody in Kindergarten is gonna be hearing about how FIERCE she is. :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

