Color Me Happy

I change my mind a lot…about a lot of things.  I like to think I’m mysterious and unpredictable, but my husband might be more likely to refer to my ever-changing opinions and rules as confusing or maybe even just confused (my words, not his…I enjoy making up things that I think he might be thinking).  Anyway, this “mysteriousness” of mine happens a lot when it comes to color.  I have no favorite color…or possibly I have a different favorite color every five minutes.  Either way, I think all colors have a place and time (and possibly a pattern) that they could live in and make me very happy.

Rewind 6ish years:  I was pregnant with my daughter, Tilly, and I was one of those moms that was a little anti-pink.  Not extreme, like, “I’ll never let my little girl where any girly colors, ever,” but I thought I could limit the pinkness or maybe just have a little influence.  Well, let me tell ya, the power of pink is strong in this world, and it doesn’t like to be messed with.

Sorry if it's blurry.  It's hard to "capture" 6 year olds in the wild.  Get it…"capture"…capture a photo…eh.  (Hey Dad! It really is bad joke Tuesday).
Sorry if it’s blurry. It’s hard to “capture” 6 year olds in the wild. Get it…”capture”…capture a photo…meh. (Hey Dad! It really is bad joke Tuesday).

She picked out her own outfit for today, and this is what she chose.

Needless to say, I have embraced pink.  I actually even like it…it’s very Spring-ish and flowery, and it can be the kind of ‘bright’ that sneaks into your brain and turns everything into happiness and love.  I say all this to prepare you for what I did to the mirror.

I used Martha Stewart Crafts™  Multi-Surface Satin Acrylic Craft Paint.  Colors: Pink Dahlia, Wedding Cake (white), and Pollen (yellow) mixed with a little Granny Smith (greenish) and Wedding Cake to tone town the orange.
I used Martha Stewart Crafts™ Multi-Surface Satin Acrylic Craft Paint. Colors: Pink Dahlia, Wedding Cake (white), and Pollen (yellow) mixed with a little Granny Smith (greenish) and Wedding Cake to tone town the orange.

It is crazy pink and so bright, it’s almost jarring.  I consulted the experts (that would be my children) on colors that might be great in a little girl’s room and this is what they gave me.  Pink and yellow.  Well, at least it’s done, and possibly someone with similar taste in color as my color consultants (that would be my children again) will love it and purchase it for their very own.

Can you handle any more pink?

Knitting the edging…I picked up about 212 stitches up the front around the shoulders and neck and back down the other side of the front.
Knitting the edging…I picked up about 212 stitches up the front around the shoulders and neck and back down the other side of the front.

I promise I’ll throw some other colors in here tomorrow.  Have a great Tuesday!

 

9 thoughts on “Color Me Happy

  1. Sounds good. I’ve heard from other mums of girls that there’s really no point in fighting the pink. (I’ve got boys so can’t comment on the girl thing, although my two are fairly partial to a spot of pink.) Your daughter looks an absolute sweetheart.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. :) We went out after that photo and she threw on the knitted “Cool Cape” over the top. She looked like a mix between fairy tale and eccentric bag lady.

      Thanks for the compliments on the mirror!

      Like

Leave a Reply

