If You Can’t Find ‘Em, Teach ‘Em

This morning I went over to a friend’s house to knit.  Yay!

I’ve lived in 4 different cities in the past 10 years, and I’ve been lucky enough to find knitting/crocheting friends in all of them.  One of them taught me how to knit (I’ll tell you that story next week), I happened upon a couple of them by chance, and I’ve taught a few myself.  It’s always a good time.

That’s what I like about knitting…it can be social or personal, stressful or relaxing, difficult or simple.  It’s like a little picture of life that you hold in your hands.  It teaches you things.

Last night it taught me that I don’t like knitting with Irish Oil Yarn, but hey, I’ll keep working on it anyway.  Can’t let good yarn go to waste.

What do I love working on?:

Clam Digger Cardigan by Melissa Schaschwary
Clam Digger Cardigan by Melissa Schaschwary

This.  It’s turning out to be a really fun knit.  I love Raglan shaping and I love these yarns!  I think maybe my life wasn’t complete before, and now it is.

Speaking of complete, here is the Lavender Seed Stitch Circle Scarf. Done

captured_by_snapseed_186_1

captured_by_snapseed_187_1

Do you see that ridge in the bottom photo?  That’s because I grafted it together, but I was too lazy to figure out how to do it in seed stitch.  I did it according to garter stitch instead.  I’m calling it a design feature.  Also, I hope to get pictures of someone wearing this scarf, but it’s still damp, and while I’ll do some interesting things to get a picture, wearing damp wool isn’t one of them.  I bet I can wrangle Tilly (that’s my daughter’s nickname) into wearing it; she’s easy-going like that.

So…next week is Spring Break for my children, and I plan on taking them outside a lot.  Hopefully, we’ll be doing some Colorado outdoorsy stuff if the weather’s nice. Let’s see how many posts I can write next week with my kiddos at home.  It’ll be an experiment.

Have a beautiful weekend! We’re supposed to get snow, so that means more knitting for me!

Also, two people that I love are having birthdays over the weekend, so ‘Happy (early) Birthday’ to my Mom and my sister-in-law, Jess!  It’s probable that I’ll explain how wonderful they are in Monday’s and Tuesday’s posts next week…so deal with it.

4 thoughts on “If You Can’t Find ‘Em, Teach ‘Em

  1. Hey sis, you know how much I love purple right?? (hint hint!) I love all your projects so far – the footstool turned out awesome, the loafers are soooo cute, and the cardigan for Stella is gonna be really cute too. I don’t know how you get all these projects done so fast! I haven’t done anything crafty lately. But hey, I’m caught up on laundry! :) Love you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Sister! We should do a trade: you catch me up on laundry, and I’ll knit you something purple. :) I’m super behind on all things laundry…and possibly other housework that I’m not mentioning. I was thinking about you today; glad you commented!

      Like

Leave a Reply

