Not Enough Time…and a mini-rant

A couple of months ago, I found something that I hadn’t had for a long while.  Time.  On and off for the past 10 years I have had instructing opportunities, commissioned projects, and a part-time job, but mostly I have stayed home and taken care of my children.  This led to a lot of sacrifices and a little ‘getting by’ but, overall, has been well worth it.  More recently, over the last few years I have also home schooled my children (for various reasons).  I have always taken that particular journey a year at a time, and I felt that we were due for a change this year.  My children are now both in school (and doing very well), and for the first time in a long time, I’ve gotten to do exactly what I choose.  An old acquaintance (not someone who reads this blog) asked me what I was going to do with all my time…she asked me if I would get bored.  She asked me through an e-mail, so my immediate response was a confused look, a chuckle, and a message back that just said something like, “No, I won’t be bored.”  This is what I was thinking though:

  1.   Most women I know (and men too) have a mental list of things that need doing and have been put off due to lack of time…it doesn’t matter if you work or stay home, it’s always a mile long.   and…
  2.  The moms I know, daydream of what they will do in the moments when they are ‘child free’ (and/or ‘work free’).  It could be anything from “absolutely nothing” to “skydiving”  (if that’s your thing).  It doesn’t really matter…it’s something.

My “something” is a lot of things (mostly crafty, sometimes lazy), but I have to be honest and say that I was taken aback by her asking if I would be bored.  I’ve been a lot of things over the years but ‘bored’ isn’t one of them. What do you think? Would you be bored?

Today, so far, I’ve spent my time grocery shopping, getting new tires and a car alignment, and knitting this:

Two different yarns from yesterday in colors Kitten and Rose.
Two different yarns from yesterday in colors Kitten and Rose.

Yesterday I asked Stella which yarns she liked most for the cardigan, and she chose pink in the Cool Wool and tan in the City Tweed™ DK.  I wasn’t sure how that would turn out, so I decided to do a gauge swatch (which is just a way of seeing if it’ll all work out).

I even washed it to see if anything weird would happen to the yarn (the CityTweed has alpaca in it, and alpaca tends to stretch when washed), but it seems to be holding up fine.

captured_by_snapseed_180_1

I’m pretty happy with Tilly’s yarn choices…what do you think?

Oh, and I finished knitting the lavender circle scarf…pictures to come tomorrow…hopefully. :)

6 thoughts on “Not Enough Time…and a mini-rant

  1. I wonder whether your acquaintance was a teeny bit jealous of the fact that you’ll now have some time? That said, there are some people who seem genuinely terrified by the idea of unstructured time, especially if it’s time alone. They have no idea how to entertain/motivate/interest themselves. I’m not criticising, just observing. Can’t say I’m one of them – today I’ve got a (VERY rare) day home alone and it’s been bliss so far – knitting, crocheting, and digging the vegetable garden. Absolutely no chance of boredom.

    Enjoy your newfound time. Sounds as though you’ve earned it. And sounds as though you’ll make very good use of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree. And I think it’s just an interesting use of words (that I’m completely over-analyzing). Even if I’m doing nothing, it’s what I’m choosing to do, so I’m not “bored.” Being ‘bored’ seems more like something reserved for children, prisoners in solitary confinement, and possibly people stuck in car traffic for really extended periods of time. :) Hope you enjoyed your day; knitting, crocheting, and gardening sounds wonderful to me! Thanks for your thoughts!

      Like

Leave a Reply

