Two is Too Many

Can you feel it?  It’s almost here.  I know it’s almost here because yesterday afternoon I started feeling the urge to clean and organize for no reason.  This morning I even went so far as to buy a few new cleaning supplies.  What’s coming?

Spring!!!!!

Tomorrow is the first official day of Spring here in the Northern hemisphere.  It’s not even very warm here in Colorado this morning, but it’s sunny, and you’d be amazed at what the sun can do when you live a mile closer to it.

So before I show you my two newish Spring-inspired projects, I’d like to say “Happy Birthday” to my friend Larissa (from the comments).  She is also a pretty crafty lady but is all kinds of busy with the raising and teaching of children.  She even has a new one on the way…another baby to knit for over the next few months. Yay!  :)

Alright, first up;  progress on the lavender scarf:

captured_by_snapseed_174_1

Well, not much progress.  I’ve added 4 inches (about 10 cm)  since yesterday, but I’ve still got at least 8 inches to go.  This is the part of scarf knitting where you must steel yourself against the call of new knitting projects.  “I will finish this first, I will finish this first…”

This next project is something I started a few weeks ago and is supposed to be for my Etsy shop.

captured_by_snapseed_175_1

It’s a whole cloth quilt (meaning I haven’t done any cutting and piecing), but I am hand quilting it in a design of swirls and fairies.  Over the last few years I’ve learned everything I know about quilting from the internet, so I’m not going to be giving out any wonderful, life changing tips…they are already there at your fingertips.  I did, however, learn that for hand quilting, there are special thimbles needed.  I don’t have one but found that band-aids work nicely in a pinch.

One side of this quilt is a flower-printed cotton and the other is a striped brown linen.

captured_by_snapseed_176_1

Can you see the fairy?  She’s in the middle and about the size of my hand.  I’ll probably add more quilting to the fairies when I get the swirly filler completed.  It’s a small quilt so when finished it’ll measure about 33in by 33in (not a standard size)…big enough for car seats or kicking around on the floor.  Hopefully, I’ll find some time for this in the next few days.

The second project I want to show you today is this:DSCN0488

I’ve had this mirror for awhile, and it’s already been painted at least once.  Originally, it was a faux-distressed gold color.

I was thinking about selling it, but I wanted to paint it first (I like to change things…it’s just what I do).  And I wanted it to be bright and colorful and something that might go well in a little girl’s bedroom.  So, brace yourselves; right now it’s in a scary phase.

captured_by_snapseed_172_1I love paint.  It changes things so fast.

And last, I want to leave you with the next knitting project I’m dreaming about.  It’s for my daughter, Tilly,…a little cardigan for spring.  The pattern is Clam Digger by Melissa Schaschwary.  I’ve wanted to knit this ever since the pattern was published last Spring.

captured_by_snapseed_178_1

I don’t have the suggested yarn in my stash, and I’m trying to be good, so I need to choose between these two yarns.

On the left, Knitpicks City Tweed Dk in colors Kitten and Rhubarb.  On the right, Elsebeth Lavold Cool Wool in colors Khaki and Rose.
On the left, Knitpicks City Tweed™ DK in colors Kitten and Rhubarb. On the right, Elsebeth Lavold Cool Wool in colors Khaki and Rose.

Opinions?

5 thoughts on “Two is Too Many

  1. Love the tweed! Stella might prefer the other since it’s a bit more, I don’t know, sleek and bright. Beautiful job on the quilt, hand sewing is so fun and thanks for the birthday shout-out. I feel famous! :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

