Finished

As of today, I have a new, beautiful, little niece!  Very exciting!  Momma and baby are in fine health and doing great!

I wasn’t able to be at the hospital when the baby was born, but I did get to go and hang out, talk, and knit during the first stages of the process.  I stayed up way too late. …but it was worth it. :)  Now on to crafty business because I plan on taking a very short nap before I need to journey back to the kids’ school.

First up, the finished knitting I promised.  This is the ‘Cool Cape’ by Anna and Heidi Pickles.

cool cape
I used Ella Rae Classic Chunky Superwash wool. Here it is on a bush, not being particularly useful.

I started this project back in November 2013, and for several months now all I’ve needed to do was to finish sewing the top of the hood together.  A few days ago, I finally managed that epic feat, and now it’s done.  I’m pretty happy with it and so is Stella.  It’s a good layer if there’s just a little chill in the air, and it layers pretty easily over jackets and sweatshirts.

captured_by_snapseed_68_2
Here it is keeping my daughter warm and being very useful. Well done wool! Good effort!

Now to the loafers I mentioned yesterday.  I’m gonna attempt these.  The middle version.

captured_by_snapseed_94_1
These are the ‘Little Loafers’ by Lorin Jean.

They look more complicated than the last pattern I tried, but I’m up for it because they have style.  I’m gonna try to work on these over the weekend…probably during the two different birthday parties I’ll be attending with my children.  Isn’t it amazing how many birthdays fall in March?

Last, but not least, while my sister-in-law was getting to experience labor first hand, I was knitting her a nice, new, scarf for the Colorado springtime.  It’s not done yet, but thankfully, she is. :)

captured_by_snapseed_97_1
I promise this is all one color of yarn; I just couldn’t get it to behave for the picture. It’s Cascade Yarns ‘Pacific’. It looks like something in between lilac and lavender.

That’s all I have for you today.  Have a wonderful weekend!  Try to find some Spring if you can, I hear it’s nice.

5 thoughts on “Finished

  1. I’m enjoying your blog Kim! Your mom directed me here from her facebook post. I don’t knit but I do crochet. And since I know your family (3 Generations) very well, I enjoy reading your stories. In fact when reading I am hearing it in your voice. LOL! I look forward to your stories.

    Like

  2. I love the cape it looks great. Hmm. I would buy one of those, especilly like that it has a hood. Great job The loafers are too cute! Love Mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

