Back to the Beginning

My little family and I are city dwellers, and we have been ever since my man and I got married 10 years ago.  We’ve lived in several different cities, but right now we live around Denver, Colorado, which is also where I was born.  It is not, however, where I was raised (mostly).    My Mom and Dad and family and extended family come from Missouri.  And to me, Missouri still feels like home.  There is something about coming from people you love that makes you love where you’re from.  For anyone who doesn’t know or has never been, let me tell you a little bit about good ‘ol MO.  Missouri’s got four distinct seasons, is in the Midwest, and is the home of Kansas City (it’s on the border of KS, and there is a Kansas City, Kansas, but mostly it’s on the Missouri side).  The state gets ice storms, snow storms, thunderstorms (amazing ones), tornados, heat waves, floods, and crazy humidity.  But, it’s the kind of place that if you take the time to get to know it, you’ll find good stuff and good people.

One of my favorite things to do growing up in Missouri was to take walks through the woods or go hiking.  I loved the quiet and the smells of dirt and leaves and flowers.  Clouds of little bugs floating by and Black-eyed Susans.  Okay, so I’m romanticizing it a bit, but I still loved it.  (Somehow, I can’t seem to get Coloradans to understand the point of walking through the woods if it doesn’t take place on a mountain).

Today in Denver it is cold and rainy/snowy and as damp as it gets here, and there is nothing better than being inside with a cup of coffee, knitting, and a little reminiscing.  It’s all the fault of my coffee cup.

coffee cup
My brother-in-law, Will, oh so generously parted ways with this and let me keep it for my very own. (Okay, truthfully, this is just not his taste in coffee cups.)

This cup is like the epitome of ‘country and redneck’ to most people from my home town, but I like it.  It’s kind of silly, but it reminds me of those walks through the woods and that one time I went deer hunting with my Dad.

What am I knitting today while I drink way too much coffee out of my backwoods deer cup?  Let me show you.

cushy knitted scarf
For the knitters: Knitting this in the Fishermen’s Rib Stitch on size US 11, 16″ circs. I’m using Knitpicks Superwash Worsted and Cascade 220 Superwash, both held double.

This scarf (same as the one I showed you yesterday) is almost finished, and while I still have several other knitting projects on the needles, I’m getting supplies ready for my next endeavor.  Little crocheted loafers for my cousin’s wee baby boy, Jack.  Super adorable, that one.

yarn for baby loafers
Which of these yarns will turn into loafers?…nobody knows. (Oh wait, that’s right… I know).

I also have an update on the footstool project.  I removed the faux velvet flower fabric yesterday and uncovered this fabric:

footstool fabric

It seems like this is the original fabric of the footstool and might be vintage.  I’m not showing the whole thing though because it’s got some serious stains, and I don’t want to freak out the people who don’t pick up free stuff or shop at thrift storesfor this very reason.  I was thinking about trying to get it dry cleaned because I really like antique/vintage stuff, but I’ll probably just end up reupholstering and selling it.

That’s all I have for today.  I plan on keeping my weekends ‘post free,’  so if anyone’s still reading, I’ll see you back here on Monday.  Have a happy Friday and a wonderful weekend!

2 thoughts on “Back to the Beginning

Leave a Reply

