Before My Time

I am 31 years old, but sometimes certain activities and behaviors of mine have me thinking I might be a bit of an old lady.  (I’m not talking about more modern, older ladies here, I’m talking about the cliches from childhood).  I will give you examples of my oldness:

  1. I knit and crochet.
  2.  Sometimes I drive my car all scrunched up too close behind the wheel.
  3. I enjoy watching ‘Murder She Wrote’ and ‘Marple’ on Netflix.
  4. I offered my husband a butterscotch hard candy at church last week.  I kid you not, I really did that.  (At least it was a life saver and not the kind wrapped in plastic).

This little quirk of mine gets me thinking about making things that might be considered old fashioned, and so I give you the hand muff(ler)…or hand warmer, if you prefer.

DSCN1548
Knitted with Lion Brand Wool Ease Thick n’ Quick. It’s lined with a little faux fur sewn to the inside.

I knitted this for my daughter.  She has a really cute dress coat that has no pockets and needed something to keep her hands warm.  I didn’t really think of this as being old fashioned until her fellow Kindergarteners asked me if she was wearing a cast.  Once the use was explained, they were quite mesmerized.

Just for fun here is a sneak peek of a few of the other projects I’m currently working on:

 
A very cushy scarf in the works for a very lovely sister-in-law.  I scrapped the first one, so she might get this before winter is completely over…maybe.
A very cushy scarf in the works for a very lovely sister-in-law. I scrapped the first one, so she may or may not get this before winter is completely over. (Ignore the coffee…it snuck in.)
This is a footstool I bought for $5 and I'm going to change the fabric…I kinda like the colors, but it's old and gross.
A footstool I bought for $5 and am going to change the fabric…I kinda like the fabric and colors, but I don’t know where it lived before, so it needs to be replaced. It also has a seam down the middle, and that’s just weird.
A little sewing project for my (currently non-existent) Etsy shop. I’ll explain exactly what it’s gonna be at a later time.
5 thoughts on “Before My Time

Leave a Reply

