What’s in a Name?

I am a child of the 80’s and early 90’s, but I was enamored with all the black and white TV shows that would play on Nick at Nite – shows from the 50’s and 60’s.  I would watch all sorts of great shows…Dennis the Menace, Green Acres, Mr. Ed, and such.  The Dick Van Dyke Show was my favorite, but then, also, there was Lucy (whom I love). ;)  Lucy had a best friend named Ethel who had a husband named Fred…Fred and Ethel Mertz.

Embarrassing sidenote: I played Lucille Ball in a very small role in a high school play. Did a terrible job of it, but I think I was the only girl at the time who had really watched the show.

Thread & Ethel, apart from being an homage to my classic television watching days, is also a tribute to my Great-Grandma Cooper.  A few months back I was thinking about how I feel that I should always be making something and wondering where that feeling comes from.  Is it inherited?  I definitely wasn’t taught by my family to knit or sew (to be fair though, my mom did teach me the single crochet stitch when I asked as a teenager, and she does know how to sew and embroider, she’s just not as interested in the practice of them).  The craftiest lady I could come up with was my Great Grandma Cooper – Grandma Cooper, we called her.  (The “oo” is pronounced as in ‘book’ not ‘moo.”) She passed away when I was young, so I didn’t get to know her well, but my mom has told me about the things she would make…quilts for her granddaughters dolls and such and lots of things out of necessity and frugality, and I like to think she found joy in the making.    Her name was Ethel.

And that’s how this blog came to be named what it is.

I love to knit, crochet, quilt, paint, sew, embroider, and cross stitch.  I love to make things and change things (someday I’ll have to tell the story about ‘the Karate belt’…my Dad knows what I’m talking about).  It’s good fun to wonder about creating and realize that almost everyone we know makes something…my Great Uncle Pete makes ducks out of golf clubs, my Aunt Mary quilts, my Aunt Deb crochets and cross stitches, my sister, Kristen, enjoyed scrapbooking for awhile, and my Mom and Grandma Peggy know how to crochet and sew.  It’s part of humankind…making things, creating.    It’s good stuff.  Makes me smile.

Either my Mom or Grandma Peggy crocheted this zig zag blanket. (Added later: I found out my Mom crocheted this one…my Grandma Peggy says she would never have chosen yellow). They both crocheted blankets for my older sister before she was born, and I inherited this one when I came along. Sadly, my younger brother, Dan, was neglected in the crocheted blanket department. Deeply tragic.
5 thoughts on “What’s in a Name?

  1. Kim, I love reading this! You are right your Mother and I each crocheted blankets, I crocheted the pink, blue and white blanket and your Mother crocheted the yellow, green, pink and white blanket in your picture. (I don’t really like yellow) Your Great Grandma Cooper really enjoyed watching “I Love Lucy” Love you and miss you Grandma Peggy

    Like

Leave a Reply

