Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday was good for my (organizational) sanity but not as much for crafty blog updates.  Tilly and I watched “The Princess Diaries 2″ with Anne Hathaway and none other than the Captain of the starship Enterprise, James T. Kirk….alright, it was Chris Pine (William Shatner would’ve made an odd love interest for a princess).  It had some semi-surprising twists and turns and some great comedic actors (don’t get me wrong, it had its fair share of terrible actors as well).  It was better than I thought it would be.  We folded laundry, ate popcorn, and got in some good snuggles (great suggestion from the comments yesterday :)).

Then I turned off the TV, kicked my son off of the computer, and we all journeyed over to Red Rocks Park for a small hike.

captured_by_snapseed_220

captured_by_snapseed_228

It was a busy day at Red Rocks…lots of people.

It’s only a 15-20 minute drive from where we live, and it’s amazing.  For part of the path you get to walk on the rock, and it makes the whole world feel a bit tilted.  The whole walk around is not too hard of a hike for adults, but it can be arduous and long for the little ones.  The dirt/sand makes it slippery, and there are no safety fences to keep anyone from falling over edges.  At one point we were going one way and there was a pregnant woman with two little ones, probably ages 2 and 4, going the other direction, and I kept praying that they came out of the hike alright.  She was there with friends, so I’m sure everything turned out fine, but Tilly fell down at least 5 times in the few moments when I wasn’t holding her hand.  We had a good time though (despite my worrying) and every several feet or so, Dodge stopped to point out some odd bit of plant growth.  Amazing place.

As for the knitting, I’ve finished the edging and started a sleeve.  I like to use DPNs (that’s Double Pointed Needles for you non-knitters).  They are my favorite way to knit smallish things in the round.  captured_by_snapseed_240_1

I don’t know why, but when I knit with DPNs they make me feel like I’m a spider spinning her web (that might be the influence of too many spider characters in children’s books.  Currently, it’s Ms. Spider from James and the Giant Peach).  Anyway, it’s turning out great so far.  Technically, according to the pattern, you should knit the sleeves and then the edging, but it makes no difference to the outcome, and I enjoy knitting sleeves, so I save them for last.

Well, the weather app on my phone said it was supposed to rain or snow today, but so far it’s a big lying liar.  So we’re off to absorb a little Vitamin D.

Have a Happy Thursday!